The Fine Print | Book Review

Title: The Fine Print
Author: Lauren Asher
Series: Dreamland Billionaires #1
Genre:
New Adult | Contemporary | Romance
Publisher: Piatkus Books

Trigger Warnings: Sexual content | Parent death | Emotional abuse | Cancer | Suicidal thoughts

Rowan
I’m in the business of creating fairy tales.
Theme parks. Production companies. Five-star hotels.
Everything could be all mine if I renovated Dreamland.
My initial idea of hiring Zahra was good in theory, but then I kissed her.
Things spiraled out of control once I texted her using an alias.
By the time I realized where I went wrong, it was too late.
People like me don’t get happy endings.
Not when we’re destined to ruin them.

Zahra
After submitting a drunk proposal criticizing Dreamland’s most expensive ride, I should have been fired.
Instead, Rowan Kane offered me a dream job.
The catch? I had to work for the most difficult boss I’d ever met.
Rowan was rude and completely off-limits, but my heart didn’t care.
At least not until I discovered his secret.
It was time to teach the billionaire that money couldn’t fix everything.
Especially not us.

🎢 🎡 🎠

The Fine Print by Lauren Asher is the first book in a romance series that follows three brothers, descendants of a theme park owner billionaire. They must complete specific challenges to get their part of their grandfather’s inheritance.

In this first story, Rowan, the youngest brother, is challenged to create a groundbreaking project for Dreamland. Zahra, a stylist and generational worker at the park, is the answer.

The first page of this book is a themed playlist for you to listen to 😍 It features a bunch of my favorite songs, like Believe by Mumford & Sons and Ho Hey by The Lumineers.

A brooding, rich guy with traumas, who doesn’t want one? Rowan is a great romantic lead, with bad enough mistakes to create tension but not enough to make you hate him, and the borderline amount of red flags acceptable (disclaimer: in a fictional relationship, not real life).

Zahra seems more interesting than she truly is. She is your typical sunshine-girl but has a darkness to her. Zahra also likes to appear independent, but Rowan is the exception.

This brings us to the romance, which, although not butterflies-inducing, has enough unresolved sexual tension to keep you hooked. Without going into details, their early relationship features one of my favorite tropes — falling for the same person twice — but it has a dubious execution. I prefer it when both parties don’t know who the other truly is.

Like a true romance book, everything else around the main couple falls into the background. There are family dynamics that could be explored more, especially on Rowan’s side, but I’m hoping they’ll appear in the next books. Zahra’s sister is a cutie, though.

A minor note: the spicy scenes are pretty nice, and I’ve read a lot of smutty fanfiction. But some sentences and pickup lines are sooooooo lame. It’s cringy but funny, so I’ll forgive it.

overall

The Fine Print is the rich, brooding guy meets down-to-earth, sunshine girl romance you need in your life. It’s sexy, dramatic, and although it doesn’t reach its full potential, it’s a light and quick read for any romance lover.

C A W P  I  R  E

8 8  7  7  7 8  8


INSTAGRAM 🔹  TWITTER 🔸 GOODREADS 🔹  PINTEREST